The Hawk’s Nest
3015 Westfork Drive
Off of Sherwood tucked behind the Common Point Mall

When I entered the Hawk’s Nest, it’s proprietor, Ray “Big Head” Smith sat watching Top Gear with a couple of the regulars. I commented that it was my favorite car show and was immediately welcomed into the fold. I placed myself at the bar near a stool that was embroidered with the name ‘Mel.’ I ordered a drink and picked up a menu. The bar fare was standard so I asked for what they did best. I was given the Truck Driver’s Special. The huge plate of hamburger steak topped with grilled onions, french fries and lima beans hit the spot. (I took my leftovers home and am still eating them.) Ray said the Hawk’s Nest has been around for 40 years and in its present location since 1984. The taxidermied hawk has maintained a steady vigil over the bar the entire time. I later inquired about ‘Mel’ and some of the other named furniture. At the Nest, stools are retired in honor of their regulars. It takes about 20 years to achieve this
status, so everyone needs to head on down and find their favorite. Dinner and 2 drinks came in under $20. Oh…and I was told the Shrimp Remoulade was the best in town.

Yours,
Dive Bar Girl

